Net neutrality countdown – POLITICO

With help from John Hendel and Nancy Scola

NET NEUTRALITY COUNTDOWN — The Republican-led FCC is barreling toward a vote this week on repealing net neutrality rules, amid mounting calls from Democrats and public interest groups to delay. The Thursday vote is widely expected to split along party lines, with Chairman Ajit Pai and fellow Republicans Mike O’Rielly and Brendan Carr voting in support of the repeal and Democrats Mignon Clyburn and Jessica Rosenworcel firmly in the “no” column. Democrats have been turning up the volume in urging Pai to postpone the vote, with many citing widespread reports of fake public comments in the net neutrality docket. Senators including Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Patrick Leahy (D-Vt.), Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.), Ed Markey (D-Mass.) and Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio) made a renewed push for a delay in a letter to Pai on Friday. The FCC chairman, however, shows zero signs of changing course.


Full story here



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here